Timeless Mick

Jann Wenner: What do you think of the Stones today?

John Lennon: I think it’s a lot of hype. I like “Honky Tonk Women,” but I think Mick’s a joke with all that fag dancing; I always did. I enjoy it; I’ll probably go and see his films and all like everybody else, but really, I think it’s a joke.

–Rolling Stone Interview, Issues 74 & 75, 1971

It was an extraordinary period. When you think about the people who were around and all that was going on. History has a glitch in it, because we see it from a certain perspective, but we also only look at pieces in isolation. It would be as if taking a cross section of the earth, extracting one rock in isolation. Events in isolation need a little of the camouflage that add to their flavor. 

To watch Mick Jagger a hundred years later reminds me of the period this was shot at, which is John Dean on the tv screen around ’73 in the above photo.

In the early ’70s, the Stones were wowing them in New York, doing Madison Square Garden. The Beatles had became history, the Stones remained around since the ’60s as part of the London Sound. The Daily News was making them the centerfold every day. Truman Capote on with Dick Cavett explained what it took to do one of these megaconcerts.

The video above, I think was the Stone’s first in the beginning of the 80s. Charlie Watts never looked to good, so relaxed and Bill Wyman was still there. I remember being on the subway in the ’80s and Wyman (and I believe his son) were waiting in the 50s  for a subway and I remember him being taller. But back to Mick. I had missed the opening of SNL (which for years I refer to as Saturday Night Dead). And here is this skit, awful skit, and I’m thinking which English actor is that? And I realize it’s Mick.

I grabbed the camera and figured this was kind of historic. Why would Jagger come on SNL, except to promote a tour.

Foo Fighters and Jeff Beck.

He performed several times including that wonderful guitarist, Jeff Beck.

In a world where Whitney Houston could never seem to be able to make a comeback, and Mariah is not the powerhouse she was 20 years ago, it is amazing to see Mick.

He seemed happy and at home performing. I can only think of one performer that holds that same character, Tina Turner.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Timeless Mick”

  1. Szablony allegro Says:

    Very interesting article. Adds a blog to my RSS feed. Regards

  2. dweebcentric Says:

    could the girl in the last shot behind mick be singer joss stone? she did a fantastic version of screaming jay hawkin’s “put a spell on you” with jeff beck some time ago.

    also… i love that shot of gramma. i want to blow it up and frame it. can you also post the one of them goofing around at the house on staten island (the series of 3 shots)?

Leave a Reply

